Knitted potholders

I’m lucky enough to live near a crafts café (Love13 in Enfield) and earlier this year I went to a beginners knitting class with a few friends. The last time before that I had picked up knitting needles was in primary school, so I definitely classed myself as a beginner. We learned how to cast on and off, knit and purl stitch and how to change colour and spent a lovely couple of hours there.

And over the last couple of weeks I finally tackled my first knitting project. I wanted to make something for my mum’s birthday but it had to be fairly easy because I didn’t want to overstretch myself on my first knitting attempt. And because my mum likes practical things, I decided on making a pair of potholders.

I found a pattern on ravelry, bought some wool (I kept it basic and used some Rico Creative Cotton Aran Yarn – in purple because that’s my mum’s favourite colour) and off I went.

And here’s the finished result:

potholders

I have to admit that it took me a lot longer than I had anticipated and they might not be 100% even as the tension varies quite a lot, but overall I’m pretty pleased with them!

The pattern was really easy to follow and I got into a rhythm pretty quickly.

And what I really enjoyed was, that I could still sit with the rest of the family over Easter and join in the conversation while knitting. As much as I love sewing, I do sometimes find it a bit lonely, because it’s just me taking over the only proper table we have in the flat and just concentrating on whatever I’m making for hours on end. So the fact that I could still sit with everyone else and chat while knitting was great. So I don’t want to neglect my sewing, but I think it’ll be a nice change to fit in some knitting every now and then.

Leave a Reply

