Ultimate Trousers

Last month I did the Ultimate Trousers Class at Sew Over It in Islington. I hadn’t been to a sewing class since my intro to sewing course almost two years ago. Since then I’ve mainly made dresses and tops and I thought I should really try and tackle trousers but thought that I could do with a bit of help. I’m so glad I decided to do the class! It was so nice to learn together with other sewers and the teacher was really experienced and just so lovely as well.

One of the great things about the class is that they have toiles of all the different sizes there, so before cutting out the fabric you can try on different sizes to see which is the best fit. That was such a big help and I always get a bit bored when making toiles as I already know that I won’t be able to wear it and I’d rather be working with my nice fabric. Having the toiles there to try on was great for choosing which size to cut out. And the teacher also measured us as well and helped with adjustments.

Would you like to guess how much length I had to add to accommodate my stupidly tall body? 7.5 inches plus hem! The teacher also pointed out where the best point of adding that length is, so that I wouldn’t end up with knees in an odd place or anything like that.

I had chosen a fabric from Sew Over It as well. It’s this black and white tiny houndstooth cotton stretch fabric.

Product Image

(Image from Sew Over It)

It’s got just the right amount of stretch to give the trousers a bit of ease when sitting down and the teacher recommended adding some stay tape (at least I think that’s what it’s called – I should have written this down!) to the waist to keep the waist from stretching when I wear them. That was such a good tip as otherwise they’d probably just get baggier and baggier with every wear.

Apart from the additional length I didn’t make any alterations to the pattern, but I think if I make another pair I might try and do something about the strange wrinkles in the ahem crotch area. I didn’t quite finish my pair in the two evening sessions we had, so I finally finished them last weekend and then wore them on a stroll through the park to get some photos in actual daylight for a change.

Ultimate Trousers_front

You can’t really see the pattern of the fabric in these pictures very well, but my boyfriend who took the pictures thinks that it made him feel a bit dizzy when he looked at them for too long, so maybe that’s a good thing. 🙂

Ultimate Trousers_side

I think they might need some tweaks, but overall I’m pretty happy with these. I can’t actually remember when I last had a pair of trousers because I really struggle to find ones that are long enough for me, so that’s quite exciting!

I can really recommend the class if you’re a bit daunted by attempting to make trousers. I was too, but the teacher was really great and so helpful!

Leave a Reply

